Sunset in the louvred living room is something specialA unique Darwin old-world tropical home
Stirling House - Tropical Darwin


12 ospiti

4 stanze

9 letti

2 bagni


12 ospiti

4 stanze

9 letti

2 bagni

Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di adulti.
Adulti
1
Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di bambini.
Bambini
Età 2 - 12
0
Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di neonati.
Neonati
Meno di 2
0
Limite massimo di 12 ospiti. I neonati non vengono considerati nel conteggio degli ospiti.
Non sarai addebitato in questa fase
Non sarai addebitato in questa fase

Su questo annuncio

Stirling House is one of Darwin’s most unique historical tropical homes, tucked away on a large, quiet hideaway nook of Larrakeyah, adjacent to the CBD. Enjoy breezy spacious old-world Darwin with high ceilings, hardwood floors and antique furniture.


Servizi

Prezzi
Ospiti extra: nessun costo aggiuntivo
Cauzione: 565€

Descrizione

Stirling House is one of Darwin’s most unique historical tropical homes, tucked away on a large, quiet hideaway nook of Larrakeyah, adjacent to the CBD. Enjoy breezy spacious old-world Darwin with high ceilings, hardwood floors and antique furniture.

You are invited to stay in Stirling House, one of Darwin’s most classic and unique historical tropical homes.

Located in a quiet and secret hideaway nook of Larrakeyah (the closest residential suburb to the CBD), our place is an old-world elevated Top End family home, full of charm.

Harking back to the yesteryear Burnett era of simple breezy tropical design, the residence features high ceilings, wooden floors and walls of louvres all round. It is tucked away on a large secluded and shady block (2000 sq. metres).

Upstairs, the large master bedroom has a king four poster bed, with an optional extra single bed available. The second bedroom (2 single beds - bunks) and third bedroom ( a queen bed) are joined by a lockable sliding door, which can be opened to accommodate families. With an optional fully self-contained apartment downstairs (1 king + 1 single w/ its own bathroom, indoor/outdoor kitchen and atrium living room), this house is great for groups and families looking to experience a different kind of Darwin. (For more information, the downstairs self-contained apartment is listed separately on Airbnb as Stirling Atrium Apartment.)

Our living room features antique and retro furniture, unlimited NBN WiFi, a large screen TV, a stereo, and even a few board games to keep everyone entertained.

Our newly refurbished retro kitchen maintains the spacious simplicity of the colonial era - with all the essentials you need to feel at home. Organise a family dinner and bake to your hearts content. Or relax on the back or side verandah and dine whilst you watch the sunset over the tropical garden.

We have tried hard to stay true to the classic post-colonial design features of our home, which by nature suits low energy consumption. The home utilises open-topped walls and a steep-pitched roof to enable cross-ventilation - no matter which way the breeze is blowing - but there is also air-conditioning available in two of the bedrooms upstairs ( the king and the queen rooms) and the large bedroom downstairs.

The property has a large front driveway with off-street parking for 6 cars. We have more than enough room to accommodate trailers or caravans. We welcome families and are happy for you to bring your pets (although we do ask that they stay outside and will need to be on a lead as the property is not fully fenced).

We are long time Darwin residents with lots of local knowledge. We are happy to help with advice about whats around to see and do. We are only 15 minutes away so can easily sort out queries as required.

We are exceptionally well-located for the town’s features. Our home is the closest residential suburb to the CBD. We are an easy walk from the Cullen Bay Marina, the Casino or the famous Mindil Beach Markets (where you can sample amazing local tropical culture and taste a range of food and drinks from many countries).

One minute away are buses that will get you to most places in Darwin that you may need to go, with direct routes to three of the main museums as well as beaches, the botanical gardens and nature reserves.
There are playgrounds for the kids nearby, with a small one a few doors down. It is 10 or 15 mins to the university, the airport, Marrara Stadium, and the hospital.

Please note that the pricing is usually for 6 people in the upstairs of the house only. We have a special reduced price for February and March 2017 for 2 people upstairs. Each additional person upstairs during this time will be $20 per night.

The self-contained 1 bedrooms downstairs apartment incurs an extra charge ($90 per night in the low season and $130 per night in the high season)

Additional guests and trundle beds (to sleep up to 12) are available for $20 per night each.

Linen and towels and unlimited wifi are included.


Regole della casa
Non è consentito fumare
Vietato organizzare feste/eventi
Check-in a qualsiasi ora dopo le 15:00
Check-out entro le 10:00

Please note: This is a family rental house. While it is suitable for family gatherings and special occasions it is not suitable for loud parties. This is our own home and we are very happy to share it with others when we are away. We like our guests to treat it as they would their own.

This property is nonsmoking. Pets are welcome but they need to remain outside. Please note that we do not have a front fence on the property, so pets will need to remain on a leash in the garden.


Cancellazioni

Rigidi

Cancella fino a 7 giorni prima del viaggio e ricevi un rimborso del 50%, più i costi del servizio.


Dispositivi di sicurezza
Rilevatore di fumo

Disponibilità
soggiorno minimo 4 notti

9 Recensioni


Precisione
Comunicazione
Pulizia
Posizione
Check-in
Valore
Profilo utente di Rebecca
Agosto 2016
The upstairs of the house is really cute and airy with louvres in every direction and a large master bedroom. Quality furnishings makes it very welcoming

Profilo utente di Greg
Giugno 2016
Host made us feel welcome and the leadup was good.

Profilo utente di Yuen
Maggio 2016
Danielle has been superb as a host. She was prompt with her responses to any enquiries and has been accommodating to our request. The place is exactly as described and shown in the pictures. Danielle was also able to provide local knowledge especially in regards to appropriate spots to get good coffee and bakery. This place would be most suitable for family or a group of friends holidaying in Darwin. My friends and I enjoyed our stay there.

Profilo utente di Alicia
Aprile 2016
I stayed with four friends Easter 2016. We had a wonderful time in Darwin and in Danielle's home. We were not a family group but a bunch of singles & couple, and the house worked for us, because we considered where the bedrooms were spaced and knew of one bathroom and made the booking of the top-of-house with full knowledge - also thanks to Danielle for her friendly email communication and information at the start of the booking. The kitchen is equipped beautifully, and the stovetop and oven cook things really well. Kudos to the fridge for space & cooling ability, too :) Danielle was available by mobile during the stay. The main bedroom with the lovely king bed has blinds and is shady and cool with the aircon on, and (it being the coolest room in the house, was big enough for boardgames on one particularly hot afternoon.) I enjoyed very much talking with Danielle and her family for some good tips around Darwin. Darwin is amazing. The ski club has great food and sunsets and is a lovely relaxed Sat night. We had a ball. The house is easy to find, easy to stay in, with generous wifi and washing machine. We also had a car - we didn't get the best value out of it, but it did make the short journeys around Darwin much easier. Enjoy Stirling House

Profilo utente di Megan
Febbraio 2016
Danielle's place was just as shown in the photos. Everyone wanted to sleep in the princess bed. Plenty of space for the kids to play and sitting outside watching the rain was very peaceful. The home is walking distance to the main tourist area but I would still recommend hiring a car as it is the easiest way to get around Darwin. Would love to visit again one day, this time without the kids.

Profilo utente di Isaac
Gennaio 2016
The period house was super clean with a homely feel, perfect for a family of four. The kitchen is well equipped though not updated, most evenings we ate dinner outside on the verandah as we watched all the gecko's come out. There are fans on the balcony which kept the temperature and humidity at bay. Danielle's place is short walk to the nearest bus stop and around a 20min walk into town or the casino which was great. The air con couldn't keep up in cooling the house during the hot & humid wet season, at times it was cooler outside than inside. One area that needs attention is the lack of blinds that block out light. We were forced to be up early most mornings as the sun streamed in through the translucent blinds, not ideal when on holidays. Danielle was prompt in all her communication before & during our stay. Thanks.

Profilo utente di Henry
Novembre 2015
Our two stays at Danielle's were great! The house is ideally located within walking distance of both the city centre (Mitchell St) and the iconic Mindill beach and market. If anything the place was better than the pictures show, really spacious, lovely vintage decor and a large balcony area for chilled evenings. We're a group of travellers working in Darwin and it was an ideal space to have to get us out of hostels and at pretty much the same price, well worth it and would recommend to anyone. Also Danielle and her husband were more than accommodating with any requests we had and are real quick to communicate.

Questo host ha 21 recensioni per altri annunci.

Vedi altre recensioni

Millner, Australia · Membro dal Luglio 2012
Profilo utente di Danielle

I have been living in Darwin for close to 15 years and I love it here. I am looking forward to sharing my house with people from Australia and around the world and hope that they will love Darwin as much as I do.

Tasso di risposta: 100%
(ultimi 10 contatti)
Tempo di risposta: entro un giorno
I dati sulla posizione esatta sono forniti dopo la conferma della prenotazione.