The room also has a desk and chair, as well as plenty of storage space in a closet.Here are some of the veggies and berries from our backyard garden last July (2014). There will be more this year!


Stanza privata

2 ospiti

1 camera

1 letto


Stanza privata

2 ospiti

1 camera

1 letto

Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di adulti.
Adulti
1
Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di bambini.
Bambini
Età 2 - 12
0
Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di neonati.
Neonati
Meno di 2
0
Limite massimo di 2 ospiti. I neonati non vengono considerati nel conteggio degli ospiti.
Non sarai addebitato in questa fase
Non sarai addebitato in questa fase

Su questo annuncio

The house overlooks the Halifax Harbour and Dartmouth, which you can see from the front porch. We have extensive gardens in the front and back yard, and a nice area to eat outside. The Hydrostone Market is a short walk away, as are all major bus routes.


L'alloggio
Posti letto: 2
Bagni: 1
Tipo di letto: Letto normale
Camere da letto: 1
Letti: 1
Check-In: In qualsiasi momento dopo le ore 13:00
Check-Out: 11:00
Tipologia alloggio: Stanza privata

Servizi

Prezzi
Ospiti extra: nessun costo aggiuntivo
Sconto settimanale: 10%

Descrizione

The house overlooks the Halifax Harbour and Dartmouth, which you can see from the front porch. We have extensive gardens in the front and back yard, and a nice area to eat outside. The Hydrostone Market is a short walk away, as are all major bus routes.

We've stayed with Airbnb in three different countries and enjoyed our experience every time. Because of this, we decided to rent out a room in our own house.

Our place is a 1,500 square foot post-WWII house on a hill overlooking the Halifax Harbour and Dartmouth across the straights. The main floor has hardwood floors, a large kitchen, a working fireplace with a wood stove insert, and lots of light flowing in from the east-facing front windows. We also have a large selection of graphic novels in English and French in the living room for your perusal, plus a record collection that's always looking for more attention!

This room contains a double (twin) bed, a closet and a selection of contemporary art. You also have access to unlimited wireless internet, and can use the kitchen and back patio (with BBQ and patio furniture) whenever you'd like.

The house is in the north end of Halifax, a 5-minute walk to the shops, cafés and restaurants of the Hydrostone Market and a 3-minute walk to Needham Memorial Park. It's also a 5-minute walk to two major bus routes, one going directly downtown in 10 minutes, and another going to the two university campuses in the south end (Dalhousie and Saint Mary's), before heading downtown (about 30 minutes).

We enjoy having company and if our schedules sync, may include you in some of our Nova Scotia adventures.

In 2016, we received nearly 100 separate bookings. We always make sure the bed sheets are clean and the room has received cleaning attention before the next guest(s) arrive. We also tidy up regularly, clean the toilet and shower as needed, and make regular use of our dishwasher.

We expect our guests to tidy up after themselves, and to keep their room in good shape. Our guests are mostly great on these fronts.

Finally, we rent a second bedroom in the same house on AirBNB with the same parameters.

- wireless internet. (Network: Motorola 97456; Password: Haligonian).
- vegetable gardens.
- raspberry and blueberry bushes.
- use of kitchen, living room, dining room, full bathroom.
- washer and dryer in basement.
- bedroom with keyed lock.
- record player and graphic novels.

- As much as possible given our schedule.
- Nous parlons français très bien y Darryl entiende el espanol un poco.
- We have hosted guests visiting from: Canada (Montréal, Toronto, Rimouski, Sudbury, Kitchener-Waterloo, Sydney, Halifax, Vancouver, Owen Sound, Winnipeg, Nanaimo, Victoria, Calgary, Moncton, Guelph, London, Inuvik, Hamilton, St. John's, Sherbrooke, Ottawa, Edmonton, Thunder Bay), the U.S. (Portland [OR & ME], NYC, Chicago, Berkeley, Boston, Atlanta, Madison, Gainesville, San Francisco, Burlington [VT]), Germany, Switzerland, Holland, Spain, Brazil, Czech Republic, Italy, Colombia, Mexico, France, Ireland, Ukraine, China, England, and Kenya.
- We have included guests in many outdoor activities, including berry picking and fishing.
- We also provide guests with quite a bit of local knowledge and travel tips!

- It's close to downtown (30-minute walk)
- It's close to all of the neighbourhoods we want to spend time in (Agricola, Gottingen, Hydrostone, North End, Windsor)
- Great views of harbour and Dartmouth across the way
- Easy access to bridges, Bedford, Sackville, all major highways
- Lots of park space for running and exercise

There are several major bus routes to downtown and south end universities (SMU and Dal), which make this a great location.

1. We have one parking space in our driveway that we're happy to provide to guests; please advise us at least 5 days ahead of time so that we can arrange alternative parking for our car.
2. If our schedule permits it, we can pick up guests at the airport. We charge $40 one-way (cabs are $65 one-way). Please request a ride at least 5 days in advance.
3. Please advise us of your arrival time at least a week in advance. If you're driving, an estimated time of arrival will do!
4. Please note that we rent two rooms in the same house with the same parameters. If you'd like to book both rooms at the same time, please contact us to inquire.


Regole della casa
Non è consentito fumare
Animali non ammessi
Vietato organizzare feste/eventi
Check-in a qualsiasi ora dopo le 13:00

No pets; no smoking inside or outside in yard; quiet time after 11pm. No food in bedroom, we provide space in the fridge and in the cupboards.

Please feel to ask a question should you have any.


Cancellazioni

Moderati

Cancella fino a 5 giorni prima del viaggio e ottieni un rimborso totale, compresi i costi del servizio.


Dispositivi di sicurezza
Kit di pronto soccorso
Rilevatore di fumo
Rilevatore di monossido di carbonio
Estintore

Disponibilità
soggiorno minimo 3 notti

66 Recensioni


Precisione
Comunicazione
Pulizia
Posizione
Check-in
Valore
Profilo utente di Valentina
Marzo 2017
Nuestra estadía fue lo que buscábamos, ubicación cerca al centro, supermercado, tiendas de conveniencia y restaurantes. La casa, es vieja sin embargo, goza de las comodidades necesarias para pernoctar. La habitación, es pequeña pero con comodidades. Baño impecable. Harris & Delices amables y considerados. Recomendados!

Profilo utente di Guillaume
Marzo 2017
I had an excellent stay at Darryl&Délice's house. The room is comfy, ultra-clean, really well arranged, with a nice view and a great light :) Located in a peaceful and convenient neighbourhood, perfect if you have your own car. If you're on foot the bus to Dowtown is just 2 blocks away from the door. Otherwise you'll have to walk 45 minutes to the city center, but it's worth the walk to have a peek at the colorful houses! I didn't have the chance to meet Délice but Darryl has been helpful and convenient with my late arrival, and also very friendly. Loved it :)

Profilo utente di Mohamed
Settembre 2016
The neighborhood is beautiful. The house is nice and clean. The room is nice, however it is relatively small. The bus station is about 2 minutes walking. The bus transports you to Halifax shopping center, or downtown within 15 min. Darryl was cooperative. I enjoyed the stay there very much. Thanks Darryl for hosting me.

Profilo utente di Valerie
Settembre 2016
Very convenient location. Very nice couple. Bedroom and bathroom clean and well maintained. I would stay there again.

Profilo utente di L
Settembre 2016
Check in was simple. The room was clean and cozy. Beautiful sunrises through the window. Close to the water and walkable to downtown. Friendly hosts, comfortable vibe in their home, and the amazing warmth of Halifax made for a great experience.

Profilo utente di Trish
Agosto 2016
THe room was comfortable. Our Hosts were very gratious and helpful about getting around without a car.

Profilo utente di Janel
Agosto 2016
I what I would strongly recommend to Darryl and Delice's bright north room is some darker curtains or black out curtains as it is very bright. Also the room could use a fan. There is some kind of siren that sounded frequently in that neighborhood - I did not inquire what it was but others should be aware of it.

Questo host ha 36 recensioni per altri annunci.

Vedi altre recensioni

Halifax, Canada · Membro dal Maggio 2010
Profilo utente di Darryl & Délice

We're pleased to be AirBNB hosts.

Darryl is originally from Sudbury, Ontario, Canada, but lived most of his life in Ottawa. He now lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia, where he works as a professor at a small liberal arts university near the Atlantic ocean. He loves his job; teaching is a passion of his.

He speaks French and English fluently, as well as some intermediate Spanish.

Délice moved to Halifax in 2015 from Québec, where she lived most of her life. The 5 travel destinations in her bucket list are (in no particular order): South Africa, South Africa, South Africa, South Africa, and Brazil (no, that's not a typo!). She likes all things chocolate and drinks only hot water.

She also speaks English and French fluently.

Tasso di risposta: 100%
(ultimi 30 giorni)
Tempo di risposta: entro un'ora

I dati sulla posizione esatta sono forniti dopo la conferma della prenotazione.