King size double bedComfortable room with artwork on the walls.
Ensuite Double in Dorset cottage


Stanza privata

2 ospiti

1 stanza

1 Letto


Stanza privata

2 ospiti

1 stanza

1 Letto

Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di adulti.
Adulti
1
Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di bambini.
Bambini
Età 2 - 12
0
Ti preghiamo di indicare il numero di neonati.
Neonati
Meno di 2
0
Limite massimo di 2 ospiti. I neonati non vengono considerati nel conteggio degli ospiti.
Non sarai addebitato in questa fase
Non sarai addebitato in questa fase

Su questo annuncio

A downstairs double bedroom with large ensuite, in our lovely 18century artistic house in central Dorchester. Ideal for weekend breaks, holiday base. Only 10 minutes from, Weymouth, Jurassic coast, Thomas Hardy, beautiful Dorset. 3 small steps only.


L'alloggio
Posti letto: 2
Bagni: 1 (Bagno privato)
Tipo di letto: Letto normale
Camere da letto: 1
Letti: 1
Check-In: Flessibili
Check-Out: 11:00
Animali: Alcuni animali domestici
Tipologia alloggio: Stanza privata

Servizi

Prezzi
Ospiti extra: 6€ / notte dopo il primo ospite
Sconto settimanale: 20%
Comunica sempre attraverso Airbnb
Per proteggere i tuoi pagamenti, non trasferire mai del denaro e non comunicare all'esterno del sito Web o dell'app di Airbnb. Per saperne di più

Descrizione

L'alloggio

I am an artist/musician, working from home, so I am often around during the daytime and happy to advise about the local area. We have lived here for 16 years in this very unusual house, which was part of a light industrial/agricultural complex, most of which has been turned into other interesting houses around the Fordington area of Dorchester.
The room is on the ground floor and I hope very accessible. Wheel chair users may find it rather tight, but there are only 3 shallow steps up into the room and everywhere else is flat.
As a diabetic, I am aware of dietary concerns. We offer a light continental breakfast with Cereal, croissants/toast, yoghurt, fruit and boiled eggs. If I am home then I can offer porridge, with milk or especially for diabetics and/or with Soya milk and it's delicious!
We have a lovely medium sized dog, Worthington who is a Jack Russel/Beagle cross and very friendly and easy going.
Our house is full of architectural features and we have a lovely sunny porch and a garden gallery/leisure space.
You come into our flag-stoned back hall, through the kitchen and into the bedroom. There is a large comfortable double bed, a chest of drawers and hanging space. The window looks onto the garden at the back. The bathroom has a shower and very large bath and lots of space.

Accesso ospiti

We usually use the rear of the house, with access through our neighbour's garden. If driving, we'll need to let you in the first time but you can have a fob long with your key.
Dorchester town centre is about 6/7 minutes walk away through the delightful "South Walks" and has small but well known brands and several local shops, great restaurants and pubs, a family run cinema for £2.50 per person on weekdays and a huge market on Wednesdays. At bank holidays we often have an artisan or French market in the town centre.

Interazione con gli ospiti

I work from home so I am often around the house during the day. I don't mind being approached at any time, unless I am with a client or on the phone. My wife works Monday to Friday and is home in the evenings. We have our own living room, although we do use the kitchen until about 8pm.
I can collect guests from the Railway Stations if necessary.

Il quartiere

Thomas Hardy, the famous Victorian author, lived just up the road at Max Gate and was born a short walk or drive away. Dorchester (or Casterbridge as he called it) is a very interesting old market town, with history right back to Neolithic and Roman times. Maiden Castle is the largest iron-age fortress in the country and is very well preserved.
If it is raining then there are Children's Museums in the town centre. There is a lot going on in the Arts in the summer with outdoor theatre, festivals, etc. Weymouth is a wonderful traditional seaside resort with a large sandy beach. But there are many smaller beaches as well as the magnificent Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove on the Jurassic Coast and fossils to find at Charmouth ,

Un giro nei dintorni

You can walk (or drive) into town. I have a bike that can be borrowed by arrangement.
There are trains direct from London, or via Winchester from the North, or Bristol/Bath from the west. I can collect you.
Roads to Dorchester gets very busy at bank holiday times but at other times we can get back from Central London on just over 2.5 hours.

Altre cose da evidenziare

Your room is right next to our kitchen. We will always try to be discrete and quiet, especially in the morning, but this is a working house, not a dedicated B and B.
You are welcome to use the bath, but please give us notice so we can make sure there is plenty of warm water.
There is space to dry wet clothing and boots on our porch.


Regole della casa
L'orario di check-in è flessibile

You are welcome to come and go as you please. There are security gates into our neighbour's drive and we will give you a fob to open them with along with your key. We urge our guests to be considerate when driving, or walking through our neighbour's garden into our property.
Smoking can be allowed in our garden, but not in the house.
There is a bath or shower. Baths are fine, but please give us some notice so that we can ensure plenty of hot water, as it is a big bath!
We have a microwave, and you are welcome to use the kitchen to warm up meals and make tea/coffee, which is provided.
Only booked and paid for guests are permitted to stay.
Please leave the room clean and tidy before you leave.
Check-out before 11am on day of departure. Later check-in perfectly OK if I am in that evening. Up to 11am is fine.


Cancellazioni

Moderati

Cancella fino a 5 giorni prima del viaggio e ottieni un rimborso totale, compresi i costi del servizio.


Dispositivi di sicurezza
Rilevatore di fumo
Rilevatore di monossido di carbonio
Kit di pronto soccorso

Disponibilità
soggiorno minimo 1 notte

I dati sulla posizione esatta sono forniti dopo la conferma della prenotazione.

46 Recensioni


Precisione
Comunicazione
Pulizia
Posizione
Check-in
Valore
Profilo utente di Lydia
Maggio 2017
This is a fabulous place to stay! The house looks so unassuming from the front, but once inside or in the backyard, lovely, quiet and relaxing. Damian is such a hospitable host with lots of great suggestions to make a visit to Dorchester a memorable one.

Profilo utente di Pam
Maggio 2017
Absolutely fabulous. Gorgeous room in quiet location but close to amenities. Damien was the perfect host. Lovely breakfast too! Will definitely stay again when in Dorchester. Highly recommended

Profilo utente di Jamie
Maggio 2017
A delightful little stop-over in Dorchester. Damian was a great host, very welcoming and provided a lovely breakfast for a long drive home the next day. We had a great time and would've been happy to stay longer!

Profilo utente di Ginny
Maggio 2017
I received a very warm welcome and was shown to a lovely room complete with a welcoming glass of wine! Daniel was friendly and polite and made a very good breakfast!

Profilo utente di Gill
Maggio 2017
Great host and lovely place. Would highly recommend.

Profilo utente di Jolande
Aprile 2017
Damian ontvangt je hartelijk en is heel gastvrij. De kamer ligt tegen de keuken van het huis en je kunt dus alleen via de keuken naar je kamer. Als je graag contact houdt met de bewoners van het huis is dit een fantastische plek om te verblijven.

Profilo utente di Stephen
Aprile 2017
Very comfortable room with bags if character in an artists home. Extremely good large bed and an excellent breakfast. Damian and Ongar were great hosts.

Dorchester, Regno Unito · Membro dal Gennaio 2015
Profilo utente di DamianDamian è un Superhost.

I am a musician and artist and ex-teacher, hence I travel a lot. I am self-contained with a few dietary issues and choices. I am sociable but happy in my own company. I am interested in many aspects of life and eager to learn more. I love travel and staying in people's homes is a great way to learn about a place more deeply than the usual tourist methods. I sometimes travel with my wife, Imogen. We are both creative and interested in exploring places and enjoy getting to know people in new places.

Tasso di risposta: 100%
(ultimi 10 contatti)
Tempo di risposta: entro poche ore